Discovering and Banishing Your Limiting Beliefs

Believe it or not, our beliefs create much of what we experience here on Earth. Our simple belief in a thought or idea can make it true for us in this life. Let’s look at obvious examples of this in action. Perhaps a woman thinks she is too old to find a husband, so when she goes out on dates, she closes herself off as a defense mechanism because she doesn’t want to fall in love with a man, when there is no chance he will marry her. So she resists putting herself out there and comes off as a little cold and disinterested, so the man moves on and doesn’t call for a second date. This example makes perfect sense. Her own limiting belief that a man couldn’t possibly want to marry her (since in her mind, she is so old) causes her to be aloof, which makes it impossible for her to find love. It has become a self-fulfilling prophecy.

This is happening every day to us in much more subtle ways. Our limiting beliefs create fear and those fears hold us back from taking opportunities. For example, many of us probably believe that to get the things you want in life, you have to overwork yourself. This belief came from our parents, movies, books, observing others, etc. However, we all seem to know at least one person who appears to get everything they want so easily. Like life is just handing them these things on a silver platter. Maybe the only difference between that person and you is they believe that good things just come to them because they deserve it.

Every thought and every action we have sends a clear message to the universe. If we are working ourselves to death, we are telling the universe that we want to work really hard. The universe, being the abundant place that it is, will just send us more work. If you want things to come easier, you actually have to stop trying so hard. Get rid of that limiting belief that you have to kill yourself in order to receive anything and let the universe bring it to you. Set your specific intention for what you want, picture it happening (including how you will feel when it happens), believe 100% that the universe will provide this thing and it is done. Don’t think about it anymore, don’t continue to overwork yourself to get it, just let it go and have faith. But don’t forget to keep your eye out for the opportunity when it comes.

When I was looking for a new job around 5 years ago, I spent 6 months putting all of my energy into it. I checked job postings every day. I went on 10 different interviews. There was one place I really wanted to work and I kept pushing for them to give me a chance. Finally, I was tired and ready to take a break from all of it. I still had a job, so it wasn’t like I needed the paycheck or anything like that. Then a recruiter reached out to me through LinkedIn with a job opportunity. They had no idea I was even looking for a new job and it was not linked at all to the effort I had been putting into my job search. This would have happened anyway. I ended up getting my current job through that recruiter and it has worked out really well. All that time I spent spinning my wheels and working so hard to get what I wanted with no success. Then the universe just provided. And you know what? That company I really wanted to work for closed their facility a few years ago and everyone there was laid off. I thank God I didn’t get what I thought I wanted.

Many of us have limiting beliefs about money. Maybe we believe that you have to choose between love and money. Or in order to be rich, you have to make your job your entire life. Or perhaps that rich people are not trustworthy. Any of these beliefs would probably stop your subconscious from even wanting a lot of money. When you ask for money, it says “No, I want love and a work-life balance and to be trustworthy!”

I have been going to the gym and doing interval training for over a year, but haven’t lost very much weight at all. Maybe I am afraid that if I am thin again, I will be sexually harassed again. Or maybe I think my larger face from the extra weight makes my nose look smaller. These are possible reasons my subconscious might not want to lose weight. Or perhaps I believe that it is really hard to lose weight after age 30. Or that everyone gains weight when they get married. I could go on and on. I am trying to get to the bottom of why I haven’t lost much weight, so I can use EFT (a kind of acupressure) to fix it. EFT can be a great way to overcome limiting beliefs. You can also write them down on a piece of paper and burn the paper, letting the belief be destroyed.

Wishing you luck in uncovering and destroying any limiting beliefs you may have.

Leave a Reply

